Register

Christv 4.00 - Tv Only Noise W. Saa7134

Solve your ChrisTV PVR related problems ( Read this before you post )
Also please check the Tips&Tricks Forum, you might find a fix for your problem.
Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Aug 2004, 17:31

Postby Moreno » 28 Sep 2004, 08:27

:o The reinitializing of the WDM driver (MEDION card) to get working sound
does not work anymore. On the contrary:
As before version 3.8 I have to initialize with the Cyberlink's PowerCinema or
Nero Vision express SE to get the sound working correctly.
I have to explicitly prevent ChrisTV from reinitializing the driver otherwise
there is only noise on the TV channels.
regards

Chris P.C. Support Team
User avatar
Posts: 4637
Joined: 01 Sep 2003, 18:31
Location: Chris P.C. HQ

Postby Chris » 28 Sep 2004, 08:35

Please run ChrisTV Configruation Wizard and choose your country correct.

Post your ChrisTV.log file if you still have problems.
Best Regards,
ChrisPC Support


ChrisTV PVR - The PVR that TAKES control OVER your TV Card
http://www.chris-tv.com

ChrisPC Screen Recorder - Create video tutorials and record your gameplay
http://www.pcscreenrecorder.com

ChrisPC YTD Downloader MP3 Converter
http://www.freeyoutubedownloadermp3converter.com

ChrisPC Free VideoTube Downloader
http://www.videoyoutubedownloader.com

ChrisPC Free Video Converter
http://www.freevideoaudioconverter.com

ChrisPC Free Anonymous Proxy
http://anonymousproxy.how

How to download video?
http://downloadvideo.how

How to change DNS?
http://changedns.how

Member
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Sep 2004, 10:00

Postby dtc867 » 28 Sep 2004, 11:15

When I installed CTV 3.8 the biggest problem was getting the sound settings right which I did, and from which I learned all the tips from the various postings on the forum. I have now installed Version 4.00 and have lost the sound!

Sound works fine on all other devices and software, including PCTV Vision. I have checked:

Image & Sound Settings/Sound - set to Line In, Mute Sound unchecked and Volume to Max.

Recording Settings/Common Settings - Record Sound Level set to 150, Meter shows sound fluctuating between 80 and 120, Sound Source is Line In.

Driver Settings - Audio Capture Source is Phillips Sound Agent 2 (Sound card with drivers installed), TV Audio set to Pinnacle PCTV Card

Channel Settings - Sound Mode tried on Mono, Stero and Auto, Audio Input tried on TunerIn, Line In 1 (2 & 3).

But no sound - does anyone have any ideas?

Chris P.C. Support Team
User avatar
Posts: 4637
Joined: 01 Sep 2003, 18:31
Location: Chris P.C. HQ

Postby Chris » 28 Sep 2004, 11:19

Make sure that you have selected correctly the Country in ChrisTV Configuration Wizard.

Please post your ChrisTV.log file.

In ChrisTV.ini file :
Please check what value has in
[Settings]
Country = ?

Also you could try to set Country to 0 and restart ChrisTV.
Best Regards,
ChrisPC Support


ChrisTV PVR - The PVR that TAKES control OVER your TV Card
http://www.chris-tv.com

ChrisPC Screen Recorder - Create video tutorials and record your gameplay
http://www.pcscreenrecorder.com

ChrisPC YTD Downloader MP3 Converter
http://www.freeyoutubedownloadermp3converter.com

ChrisPC Free VideoTube Downloader
http://www.videoyoutubedownloader.com

ChrisPC Free Video Converter
http://www.freevideoaudioconverter.com

ChrisPC Free Anonymous Proxy
http://anonymousproxy.how

How to download video?
http://downloadvideo.how

How to change DNS?
http://changedns.how

Member
Posts: 2
Joined: 17 Aug 2004, 17:31

Postby Moreno » 28 Sep 2004, 18:51

Thanks Chris,

I figured this out after reading a thread in the general discussion.
"ChrisTV 4.00 - no sound/New installation".

My ChrisTV.ini was missing the "Country = 31" setting, because
I did not complete the configuration wizzard.

The Country setting was not present in the 4.00 ini file
and also not in my backup 3.80 file - I checked this -
but it is apparently necessary in the 4.00 ini file.

I can imagine that some upgraders make the same mistake
in not completing the Configuration wizzard.

regards Ralfo

Chris P.C. Support Team
User avatar
Posts: 4637
Joined: 01 Sep 2003, 18:31
Location: Chris P.C. HQ

Postby Chris » 28 Sep 2004, 18:55

This problem will be fixed in next maintenance version.
Best Regards,
ChrisPC Support


ChrisTV PVR - The PVR that TAKES control OVER your TV Card
http://www.chris-tv.com

ChrisPC Screen Recorder - Create video tutorials and record your gameplay
http://www.pcscreenrecorder.com

ChrisPC YTD Downloader MP3 Converter
http://www.freeyoutubedownloadermp3converter.com

ChrisPC Free VideoTube Downloader
http://www.videoyoutubedownloader.com

ChrisPC Free Video Converter
http://www.freevideoaudioconverter.com

ChrisPC Free Anonymous Proxy
http://anonymousproxy.how

How to download video?
http://downloadvideo.how

How to change DNS?
http://changedns.how

Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: 28 Sep 2004, 20:11

Postby brandonfletcher » 28 Sep 2004, 20:21

Just to validate last post. 3.8 was cool - but I upgraded to 4 and it was all noise. Also it seems slower to start and certainly slower to move the screen around.

And let's be honest - who really understands what settings to use - do you know the bios revision of your Nokia.

Chris - this is a pivotal point. Your software is good (and don't let anyone tell you otherwise) but you must, must simplify. Think iPod, think BBC, think design.

Chris P.C. Support Team
User avatar
Posts: 4637
Joined: 01 Sep 2003, 18:31
Location: Chris P.C. HQ

Postby Chris » 29 Sep 2004, 06:30

Your software is good (and don't let anyone tell you otherwise) but you must, must simplify.


What's more simple than

Make sure that you have selected correctly the Country in ChrisTV Configuration Wizard.



;)
Best Regards,
ChrisPC Support


ChrisTV PVR - The PVR that TAKES control OVER your TV Card
http://www.chris-tv.com

ChrisPC Screen Recorder - Create video tutorials and record your gameplay
http://www.pcscreenrecorder.com

ChrisPC YTD Downloader MP3 Converter
http://www.freeyoutubedownloadermp3converter.com

ChrisPC Free VideoTube Downloader
http://www.videoyoutubedownloader.com

ChrisPC Free Video Converter
http://www.freevideoaudioconverter.com

ChrisPC Free Anonymous Proxy
http://anonymousproxy.how

How to download video?
http://downloadvideo.how

How to change DNS?
http://changedns.how

Chris P.C. Support Team
User avatar
Posts: 4637
Joined: 01 Sep 2003, 18:31
Location: Chris P.C. HQ

Postby Chris » 29 Sep 2004, 07:35

In order to launch ChrisTV Configuration Wizard (available only in shareware version), please go to Start->Programs->ChrisTV and choose ChrisTV Configuration Wizard shortcut.
And make sure that you set correctly your Country, the Audio Capture Source Sound and sound inputs.
Best Regards,
ChrisPC Support


ChrisTV PVR - The PVR that TAKES control OVER your TV Card
http://www.chris-tv.com

ChrisPC Screen Recorder - Create video tutorials and record your gameplay
http://www.pcscreenrecorder.com

ChrisPC YTD Downloader MP3 Converter
http://www.freeyoutubedownloadermp3converter.com

ChrisPC Free VideoTube Downloader
http://www.videoyoutubedownloader.com

ChrisPC Free Video Converter
http://www.freevideoaudioconverter.com

ChrisPC Free Anonymous Proxy
http://anonymousproxy.how

How to download video?
http://downloadvideo.how

How to change DNS?
http://changedns.how

Advanced Member
Posts: 36
Joined: 06 May 2004, 21:02

Postby wingzero » 29 Sep 2004, 11:11

brandonfletcher @ Sep 28 2004, 20:21 wrote: Just to validate last post. 3.8 was cool - but I upgraded to 4 and it was all noise. Also it seems slower to start and certainly slower to move the screen around.

And let's be honest - who really understands what settings to use - do you know the bios revision of your Nokia.

Chris - this is a pivotal point. Your software is good (and don't let anyone tell you otherwise) but you must, must simplify. Think iPod, think BBC, think design.


I don't agree.
What's really important is that the code works as expected and it's well optimized.
There are too many "simplified" software products around which just don't offer any tweaking to advanced users.
What he could do to help people like you who don't understand technical stuff regarding Codec settings and such would just be to offer a bunch of presets and minimal settings tweaking, panels with reduced functionality. Then an option to enable all settings tweaking and additional panels should be left for advanced/power users who know what they are doing and want the program to offer advanced options in order to tweak performance/quality as desired.

Next

Return to Troubleshooting, Errors & Bugs in ChrisTV

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests