Individual folders, time remaining and download speed

General Discussion about ChrisPC VideoTube Downloader Pro
Download videos from 30.000+ websites with Link Finder
Aankhen
https://ask.fm/kuchniewarszawa

Individual folders, time remaining and download speed

Post by Aankhen »

I’ve been using VideoTube Downloader for a while now. Thank you for an extremely useful application! It’s the most reliable of all the ones I’ve tried. I had a few ideas for features:
  • Individual folders. It would be handy to be able to specify the location on a per‐video basis. The current ‘Download Folder’ could be used as the default.
  • Time remaining. I’m not too good at estimating how long a video will take to download, so it would be nice to have it shown near the progress bar.
  • Download speed. Maybe just a global XX KB/s in the title bar. That way I know how much of my bandwidth is being used.
By the way, I’ve seen a couple of times that when a connection error occurs, the application thinks the download was successful but the video is (obviously) truncated. Would it be possible to add some sort of post‐download verification along the lines of downloaded size = expected size? Maybe it could offer the user the opportunity to re‐download the video, so they could check the file and move on if it’s alright or easily try again if not.
Chris
ChrisPC Support Team

Re: Individual folders, time remaining and download speed

Post by Chris »

Thank you for your message. We will consider your suggestions for future versions.

Please make sure you use latest version of the software, the videos that are not fully downloaded have .part extension added to their name.
Aankhen

Post by Aankhen »

Chris wrote:Thank you for your message. We will consider your suggestions for future versions.
Great! I see that the queue system is already in place, so thank you for that. :) A few more things I thought of: